match 8

Russell Muscle’s Power Hitting Makes KKR Win By 6 Wickets In IPL 2022

(image credits: KKR's Instagram)

Match No.8 it was at the Wankhede Stadium between Kolkata Knight Riders and Punjab Kings. The coin was tossed high in the air and it fell for the KKR and they chose to bowl first and Punjab Kings were to open their battings. We saw dew in the 1st innings itself and was a major factor in the game.

Mayank Agarwal and Shikhar Dhawan opened the batting from the Kings and their partnership did not even last a over as Mayank was dismissed at the last ball of the 1st over by lbw by Umesh Yadav. In came Rajapaksa the Sri Lankan wicket keeper who showed some insane power hitting and managed to score 31 runs in 9 balls shortly before being dismissed by Shivam Mavi. But then runs just seemed like a phone number for the batsmen and Punjab Kings finally stumbled all out for 137 in just 18.2 overs. Umesh Express bowled beautifully and became the highest wicket taker and held the purple cap with 8 wickets. Andre Russell who came to bowl in the 19th over and bowled two balls and got two wickets making the Punjab Kings end their batting in 18.2 overs.

The scores after the 1st innings were:

PKBS: (137-10)                                                            KKR: (18.2)

Mayank Agarwal – 1(5)                                          Umesh –
Dhawan – 16(15)                                                      Southee –
Rajapaksa – 31(9)                                                   Mavi –
Livingstone – 19(16)                                                Chakarvarthy –
Raj Bawa – 11(13)                                                     Narine –
Shahrukh Khan – 0(5)                                           Russell –
Harpreet Brar – 14(18)
Odean Smith – 9(12)*
Rahul Chahar – 0(2)
Rabada – 25(16)
Arshdeep Singh – 0(1)


The target of 138 was on the board for the Knight Riders. And Rahane and Venkatesh opened the innings for the team. Rahane fell in the last ball of the second over. Shreyas Iyer came in at no.3 and scored decent 26 runs in 15 balls. Shreyas and Venkatesh’s wickets fell in an interval of two overs. And at the two new batsmen were Sam Billings and Nitish Rana. Rana fell for a duck in the second ball he faced. Then the showman Andre Russell entered and showed everyone his power hitting 70 runs in just 31 balls he faced which contained 2 fours and 8 sixes with a massive strikerate of 225.81 and KKR won the game in the 15th over.


The scores after the final innings were:

KKR: (141-4)                                                          PBKS: (14.3)

Rahane – 12(11)                                                  Arshdeep Singh –
Venkatesh – 3(7)                                              Rabada –
Shreyas – 26(15)                                               Odean Smith –
Sam Billing – 24(23)*                                      Rahul Chahar –
Nitish Rana – 0(2)                                            Harpreet Brar –
Andre Russell – 70(31)*                                   Livingstone –


Umesh Yadav received the Man of the match for his insane performance of taking 4 wickets is his 4 overs spell which consisted of 1 maiden over and gave only 23 runs. Winning this match everything good happened good to KKR. They are at the top of the points table. Umesh Yadav is the Purple Cap holder and Andre Russell is the Orange Cap holder.


With this we conclude today’s match and we would come back tomorrow, till then stay tuned to NewsPanda.


You Might Also Like


  1. No Comment Found, Be the First To Comment On Our Blog Post.

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *