ipl 8

Nathan Ellis Does The Work For Pubjab Kings | Punjab wins by 5 runs | PBKS vs RR

Picture Credit - iplt20 (Instagram)

Its match No. 8 between the Rajasthan Royals and Punjab Kings at Barsapara Cricket Stadium in Guwahati.

The toss was won by Rajasthan Royals and they opted to bowl first considering the dew factor.

The playing XI for both the teams were :

Punjab Kings :

Shikhar Dhawan (c), Prabhsimran Singh, Bhanuka Rajapaksa, Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shahrukh Khan, Sam Curran, Sikandar Raza, Nathan Ellis, Harpreet Brar, Rahul Chahar, Arshdeep Singh

Rajasthan Royals :

Yashasvi Jaiswal, Jos Buttler, Sanju Samson (c & wk), Devdutt Padikkal, Riyan Parag, Shimron Hetmyer, Jason Holder, Ravichandran Ashwin, Trent Boult, KM Asif, Yuzvendra Chahal

The match started of with Prabhsimran and Dhawan opening the innings for the Punjab Kings. Dhawan started slow but Prabhsimran on the other hand gave an explosive start to the Kings. He went on to hit 60 runs in just 34 balls consisting 7 fours and 3 sixes before being dismissed by Jason Holder. Bhanuka came in at No.3 and went back to the dug out as he got hit by the ball in his right hand at the non-strikers end. The shot was attemped by Dhawan which went direct onto Bhanuka. Jitesh Sharma came in his place and scored quick 27 runs in 16 balls consisting of 2 fours and 1 six before being dismissed by Chahal. Sikandar Raza came in to bat but was bowled by Ashwin. Shahrukh Khan came in to bat and scored 11 runs in 10 balls which consisted 1 four. Sam curren came in to bat. Dhawan remained not out and scored 86 runs in 56 balls which consisted of 9 fours and 3 sixes.

The score after 1st innings were : 197 - 4

Punjab Kings :  

Prabhsimran 60(34) c Jos Buttler b Holder

Dhawan 86(56)*

B Rajapaksa 1(1) retd hurt

Jitesh Sharma 27(16) c Riyan Parag b Chahal

Raza 1(2) b Ashwin

Shahrukh Khan 11(10) c Jos Buttler b HolderSam Curran 1(2)*

Rajasthan Royals :-

Boult :
KM Asif :
Ashwin :
Holder :
Chahal :

Yashasvi Jaiswal and Ashwin suprisingly came to open for the Rajasthan Royals. Jaiswal started with a bang hitting a 6 on the very 1st ball of the 2nd innings. He shortly got out as he was dismissed for 11 runs in 8 balls by Arshdeep Singh. Jos Buttler came in to bat at No.3. Ashwin went for a duck in 4 halls as was also dismissed by Arshdeep. Sanju Samson came in to bat at No.4. Buttler looked good but had an unfortunate dismissal as the ball hit his bat then pad and then up high in the air and was caught and bowled by Nathan Ellis who went in to take a wonderful catch in his follow on. Devdutt Padikkal came in to bat at No.5. He struggled a lot and could not time the ball properly. Samson on the other hand looked in good touch as he scored quick 42 runs in 25 balls which consisted of 5 fours and 2 six. He was also dismissed by Nathan. Riyan Parag came into bat at No.6. Parag went to hit hard and was caught by Shahrukh Khan and was dismissed by Nathan for 20 runs in 12 balls consisting 1 four and 2 sixes. Shimron Hetmter came in to bat and the run chase seemed difficult to the Royals. Padikkal who struggled eventually got out as he was bowled by Nathan. Dhruv Jurel came in to bat at No. 7. Both Hetmyer's and Jurel's hitting gave hope to the royals as Royals now only needed 16 runs in 6 balls. Hetmyer went on to take a second run but was run out. He was dismissed for 36 runs in just 18 balls which consisted of 1 four and 3 sixes. Jason Holder now came at No. 8 but could not do much.

Punjab Kings won the match by 5 runs.

The score after the 2nd innings were : 192-7

Rajasthan Royals :

Yashasvi Jaiswal 11(8) c (sub)Matthew Short b Arshdeep Singh
Ravichandran Ashwin 0(4) c Dhawan b Arshdeep Singh
Jos Buttler 19(11) c and b Nathan Ellis
Sanju Samson 42(25) c (sub)Matthew Short b Nathan Ellis
Devdutt Padikkal 21(26) b Nathan Ellis
Riyan Parag 20(12) c Shahrukh Khan b Nathan Ellis
Shimron Hetmyer 36(18) run out (Shahrukh Khan/Sam Curran)
Dhruv Jurel32 (15)*
Jason Holder 1(1)*

Punjab Kings :

Sam Curren :
Arshdeep :
Harpreet :
Nathan :
Rahul :
Raza :

Nathan Ellis was awarded the man of the match for such incredible bowling perfomance.

Thats it with the match No.8, stay tuned to NewsPanda as we come back tomorrow with the highlights of match No.9 between Kolkata Knight Riders and Royal Challenger Bangalore.



  1. No Comment Found, Be the First To Comment On Our Blog Post.

Would you like to share your thoughts?

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *